Running Goals for 2019

Just as a preface: this isn’t a new years resolution…

The main inspiration for this new energy towards my running & hiking are the various Ultra-marathon videos I have been watching lately. It’s insane to me that people can run over 200 miles but it’s also so enticing.

I had my first taste of a physical “challenge” in 2014 and 2016 when I completed the 18km Kokoda Challenge at the Gold Coast. Although that may not be as hard for me now, 14 year old me found it quite difficult but so rewarding. My feet had massive blisters, my muscles were sore for a week after, and the mid 20km were so hard I just stood at one of the hills crying.

I cried, and then I got over it and got to the top of that hill.

I contemplated walking back 1km to my parents who were at the aide station, but I didn’t.

And this is what I remind myself of when I have to overcome a challenge today – 4 years later.

In one of those Ultra marathon videos they say:

“Do you want to leave this earth with a body in pristine condition, or do you want to test your body, see how far it can go and know its capabilities before leaving?”

I want to be able to look back at life and not see an easy path. I want to be able to show people the challenges I’ve overcome and show them what they can do too.

So here’s to the New Year, and here’s to me continuing my running journey with even more determination than before!

Leave a comment